Bernoulli Symposium on Risk

Basel, 2-4 February 2017

The Bernoulli Symposium on Risk took place in Basel, February 2-4, 2017, and gathered experts from Economics, Psychology, and related disciplines to discuss research aiming to understand Bernoulli’s proposal concerning the importance of individual variation in decisions under risk and uncertainty. In particular, the symposium allowed us to build bridges to research on impulsivity and self-control in the hope of making progress towards a new theory and measurement of risk preference that has full consideration for the issues of intra- and inter-individual differences.

“(…) the determination of the value of an item must not be based on its price, but rather on the utility it yields. The price of the item is dependent only on the thing itself and is equal for everyone; the utility, however, is dependent on the particular circumstances of the person making the estimate”.

Daniel Bernoulli, 1738, in Specimen Theoriae Novae de Mensura Sortis

“On our view, one searches, often long and frustratingly, for the subtle forms that prices and incomes take in explaining differences among men and periods. (…) The establishment of the proposition that one may usefully treat tastes as stable over time and similar among people is the central task of this essay.”

George J. Stigler and Gary S. Becker, 1977, in De Gustibus Non Est Disputandum

Organised by
Prof. Dr. Rui Mata, University of Basel
Prof. Dr. Ralph Hertwig, Max Planck Institute for Human Development
Prof. Dr. Gert Wagner, German Institute for Economic Research
Prof. Dr. Thomas Dohmen, University of Bonn
Dr. Wouter van den Bos, Max Planck Institute for Human Development
Prof. Dr. Todd Hare, University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Vieider, University of Reading
Prof. Dr. Anna Duijvenvoorde, Leiden University
Prof. Dr. Bettina von Helversen, University of Zurich
Prof. Dr. Kathryn Paige Harden, University of Texas at Austin
Prof. Dr. Bernd Weber, University of Bonn
Prof. Dr. Matteo Galizzi, London School of Economics
Prof. Dr. Sandeep Mishra, University of Regina
Prof. Dr. Philipp Koellinger, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Prof. Dr. Hannah Schildberg-Hörisch, Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf
Prof. Dr. Shyam Sunder, Yale University
Dr. Renato Frey, University of Basel
Dr. Dirk Wulff, University of Basel
MSc. Loreen Mamerow, University of Basel
Prof. Dr. Jörg Rieskamp, University of Basel
Administrative Assistants
Laura Wiles, University of Basel
Markus Steiner, University of Basel